Schellenberg Prize 2012

Back to overview

We would like to congratulate Professor Volker Dietz and Professor Armin Curt on receiving the IRP/IFP Schellenberg Prize 2012. Both laureates were awarded this prestigious prize for their work and research on paraplegia. Both scientists made great contribution to the translation of basic science to the clinics and in particular to the development of the EMSCI database.
Both Professor Dietz and Professor Curt work at the internationally renowned Spinal Cord Injury Centre at the Balgrist University in Switzerland. From 1992 to 2009 Professor Volker Dietz was the Director of the Paraplegic Centre Balgrist and in 2009 Professor Armin Curt took on the position of Director of Paraplegiology at the University of Zurich, an institution which carries out basic and translational research.

The IRP/IFP Schellenberg Prize has been awarded to scientists since 2003 for merits in the field of paraplegia. This year’s awardees will share the prize money of €150,000 and use it to further their research.

Professor Dietz and Professor Curt are both supporters of Wings for Life, working in respectively as a reviewer and a member of our Scientific Advisory Board. We’d like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for their on-going support and wish them all the best with their future research efforts.